Back to All Events

MFK Fischer Nominations Deadline

Calling all Dames Who Write Food Stories!
You may now enter LDEI’s 2017
M.F.K. Fisher Awards for Excellence in Culinary Writing

This year, it’s much easier to enter because (except for books), all entry materials may be submitted electronically—no snail mail or postage costs!

NINE prizes totaling $2,450 can be won!

Top Prize: Win $1000 and a trip to the 2017 LDEI Conference in Newport Beach, California

Deadline to enter: March 31, 2017

Food stories written by women and published in 2016 are eligible to win the 2017 prizes. The fee per entry is $35, and entries are due by March 31, 2017. Enter online

For each of the three categories below, three cash prizes and certificates will be awarded: $500 to the category winner, $100 for second prize, and $50 for third prize, making a total of nine cash prizes.

An additional $500 (USD) will be awarded to the grand-prize winner judged to be the best of the three category winners (totaling $1000). The grand-prize winner will also receive round trip (coach class) airfare to Newport Beach, California, to receive her honor in person (mandatory) at the gala awards banquet at The Island Hotel on October 28.

1.  Books

2.  Print media (magazine, newspaper, and newsletter food stories)

3.  Internet-based food articles or blogs

The 2014 and 2015 winners of the grand prize, Erin Byers Murray (Nashville) and Nina Mukerjee Furstenau (St. Louis) became Dames after winning the grand prize. This is a great tribute to the interaction of Dames at the conferences welcoming the winners. The next woman at the podium winning the grand prize could be YOU, but it won’t be if you don’t enter your work.

For more information, go to or send an email to